Home > PR Connections - COMM 4333 and 2322 > Southeastern Petition Letter

Southeastern Petition Letter

PR Connection #15 – COMM 4333 and 2322

Graduating Seniors at Southeastern University and their families woke up Tuesday morning to an email that was heard across campus. Although in previous graduations, unlimited amount of students and families could attend the ceremony, this year each graduating student will be given 5 tickets. All students, parents and faculty were not pleased by this announcement because graduation should  not be limited to partial families or solely the immediate family. They also stated in the e-mail that a limited number of students can attend, also requiring a ticket. The reasoning for this mishap was a lack of direction from administration, causing them to wait til early November 2010 to try and secure the venue. They were already booked and it forced Southeastern to settle to a much smaller church. The student body feels that this is an unfair action just because of the university’s neglect and they should compensate by finding another venue, even if the cost is more. This is the least parents are expecting after their children attending this school and after spending $26-85,000. Southeastern received over 1,000 phone calls from all their critics, less than twelve hours later to the email. The University has now set up a e-mail for complaints and suggestions, and many of the students affected are coordinating a petition for no tickets. Please speak up, this is very important to all of the Seniors who have anticipated this special day. We all want to share this together with all our families and supporters present. Would love to hear your feedback on this issue… send a comment on this post (:

Drea ! xoxo

 

Drea ! xoxo

  1. November 17, 2010 at 7:31 PM

    I heard about this as well, and it was very upsetting to me. I have a big family, which includes my immediate family and in-laws. So only five tickets to spread around is simply not enough. I have worked so hard for this degree, and on top of it I am raising a 1-year-old. I wanted my ENTIRE family to be able to celebrate this with me. I would love to hear more people sending you feedback on this topic, because I know with the tution expenses it can be quite a bit frustrating to hear this.

    • November 17, 2010 at 7:32 PM

      tuition* I got so excited writing it, that I didn’t check my spelling.

  2. November 17, 2010 at 7:31 PM

    This is crazy! I couldn’t believe it when I read that e-mail. Graduating is such a big deal for students. I agree with you in that there should not be a limit on the number of people that can come and celebrate this accomplishment.
    Well good for students and others speaking up and starting a petition. Just with the way things have been running lately, part of my wonders if the petitions, phone calls will even do anything. All I’m saying is that it isn’t right after students have spent so much to attend this school and they can’t have everyone they want to at their graduation.

    • November 19, 2010 at 3:27 PM

      Yes!!! I agree as well!!! Just keep aggravating everyone one there with numerous phone calls. They will soon get aggravated and begin to make changes!!! It’s quit ridiculous that student have to suffers because of the lack of leadership that the university has right now. Now that the search committee has placed a man to head up the search for a president I believe soon we will be able to avoid issues of this nature. All of the things that happen like this is due to lack of leadership!

  3. November 19, 2010 at 3:18 PM

    I totally agree Andrea!! SEU needs to buckle down man!!! Everything has become money oriented and they are forgetting small minute details that make a big difference. And to limit students on how many tickets they can have is absolutely ridiculous. I’m not a graduating senior this semester but if I was I would e raising sand. No student wants to only bring 5 people to their college graduation. That’s so high school. And even at my high school we didn’t even have a number of people who could and couldn’t come in. I don’t what the administration is thinking. The number one problem is that we need a president!! Too may people are walking around doing what they want due to the fact that we have no leader and that’s not good to have. No one can live without their head for and extended period of time before dying.

  4. November 19, 2010 at 4:08 PM

    This is ridiculous. What the worst part is no one who has the power to say yes wants to talk to us. They send us to people who are taught to say no in a nice way, when they couldn’t do anything even if they said yes. Southeastern talks about a student first mentality but how are students being put first if their own family can’t see them graduate? I have six family members, guess I will just tell my Dad not to come watch me graduate. Southeastern needs to become more personal with how students feel about things like that, and the food in the cafeteria, and what things should be built, and what shouldn’t. I wish we could connect with more leaders who will do all they can to say yes instead of making excuses and sending us to other people who transfer us around ten times.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

