GAP Gone Loco

PR Connection #4 – COMM 4333 and 2322

GAP GOT A NEW LOGO, and they have everyone going loco 😀

Yesterday, GAP announced their new brand logo and the consumers quickly told the company what they thought about the change. People were on all forms of media within minutes, commenting and debating about how poor the design is. Yesterday afternoon the company responded to the buzz with a statement on their Facebook page. It reads:

Thanks for everyone’s input on the new logo! We’ve had the same logo for 20+ years, and this is just one of the things we’re changing. We know this logo created a lot of buzz and we’re thrilled to see passionate debates unfolding! So much so we’re asking you to share your designs. We love our version, but we’d like to see other ideas. Stay tuned for details in the next few days on this crowd sourcing project.

I do not really think this was the response the company was hoping for but they did do a great job at communicating with their followers quickly and being open to making changes. This is really nice to see from such a successful company and I respect them for trying to change the image invite a new style into their brand. I know that I personally stopped shopping there about 2 years ago when I could no longer find clothes I liked and then there came a day when I never considered going to shop there just because I could predict the outcome. If the consumer, as a whole, feels so strongly to voice their blunt opinions it is wise for the brand to make an effort and revise it.

But again, for the record I want to say I am proud of GAP for changing the logo and making an effort for the consumer to revamp and follow the trend of fashion, bring a lot of new business in. <— Send me your feedback!

Drea xoxo

  1. October 12, 2010 at 7:46 PM

    I also did a PR connection on the new logo GAP released! I was pretty skeptic about the whole thing. There was a lot of talk about people believing that GAP purposely released a horrible logo to get free design ideas. Also, many people thought that the PR of gap realized how horrible their logo was and decided to back out of it by telling the public that they are “interested” in hearing about their idea’s too. I personally think there is no way that GAP, a company that has had great advertising in its past years, to ever think that this new logo would ever be accepted. I think this was all for publicity but we’ll never know for sure.

  2. October 27, 2010 at 12:47 AM

    I had to go double check what GAP’s old logo was. I totally agree with Sarah, this seems like a giant publicity stunt. A company like GAP doesn’t suffer from poor marketing or graphic design teams, there is no way. However, I do like the fact they asked for the opinion of the public, it really shows that they care. Did they really choose one of the graphics that a fan presented to them, probably not. Great writing by the way. I like the way that the quote showed up, with a darker background and what not.

  1. October 27, 2010 at 12:59 AM
  2. November 18, 2010 at 10:54 AM

Leave a Reply

