The Spin Crowd

Public Relations Connection #2 – Comme 2322 and 4333

One of my new shows, because I follow Kim Kardashian so much, is The Spin Crowd. I was very interested in the way the show follows a Public Relations company teeming with celebrities. Always keep in mind the shows purpose is entertainment , therefore, many situations may be edited or exaggerated. Both Jonathan and Simon commented about their new show on What’s The Buzz.

One huge point they make in this interview, and is very apparent in the show is the role of publicists in today’s media. They run the ‘behind-the-scenes’ lives of today’s celebrities and they control the perception that the public have of celebrities and Connect PR (the agency in the show) is no different. This show highlights different issues that are experienced in the media insudtry and takes us through the process of coordinating press events for the celebrity or charity.  Never forget that it is entertainment; but, if you watch the integration of public relations tactics and feel the way they plan events then there is a lesson to be learned (or two). 😀

Drea xoxo

  1. September 28, 2010 at 9:55 PM

    I did not think I would care for this show at all when I first saw it. I had a friend tell me about it and the next thing I knew we were watching it on TV. The show often has some “scripted” moments but it makes it more entertaining. I wish the show would be more involved with their careers and not just show off their office as much. While you do see the guys go to release parties and try to get their clients names more known I think it would be better if I saw them work. I know, I know it is a show so they must keep it entertaining but I think the boring stuff would be good also.

  2. October 1, 2010 at 8:17 PM

    This show and I have a love hate relationship. It is very entertaining, I’ll give it that much, but I feel that it is not showing the complete true life of a public relations professional. It is not always glitz and glamour, and the way the Jonathan treated an intern, by telling her she needed a makeover, was disgusting. I just cannot take it seriously, since it is on television. I also would like to see them work more, and teach everyone about all aspects of public relations. It is entertainment, and they are going to show the fun glamorous parties, but it is giving a false persona of the business.

  1. September 28, 2010 at 10:00 PM
  2. October 1, 2010 at 8:21 PM

Leave a Reply

