Home > Topic of the Week - COMM 4333 > Run-on Sentences Can Be Short !

Run-on Sentences Can Be Short !

Topic of the week 2 – COMM 4333

This week I had the opportunity to learn about another common mistake in grammar, thanks to Grammar Girl!! (You have to visit her website, its great)

The blog post that I read from her was on the issue of run-on sentences and that they are not necessarily ‘long’. This term “run on” refers to the fact that these sentences are in need of punctuation. My mother is a very strict grammar teacher so while I did have problems with mistakes and errors in my writing, run-ons were not my issue. It is very important to remember that punctuation tells the reader how the sentence should be read, where the pauses go and when the subject changes. We always have to put in correct punctuation when publishing or printing your work because it differentiates an educated writing from amateur writing. Grammar Girl uses the example of, I’m a woman I am a truck driver, being a short run-on sentence. The writer has fused two separate sentences together and there are no internal punctuation marks for the reader. This is an important mistake to notice so that you can make the corrections before a final draft or blog post. She taught us how to fix the run-ons in the same blog post, so read on to learn the trick.

As with anything, the writer first needs to decide in which tone and meaning is in the sentence, should it have a hard tone or something more conversational. After that is decided, there are many ways to fix this little issue. First, is the mighty comma, a simple but very effective way to correct the run on; also, a semi-colon can be used to fuse the ideas into one sentence.

GG WIDGET

Regardless of the technique used always include the best fit for your writing style, being true to your flow and your specific assignment. Grammar Girl is a great tool to sharpen your skills in grammar and writing. She always encourages the writer to find their own way to use these techniques and apply great skills in your writing.

Drea xoxo

  1. September 26, 2010 at 9:46 PM

    I think that writing is important and our generation has had a hard time with it due to the advancement of technology. I’ve heard that spelling errors are at an all time high in resumes from recent college grads. The younger generation has a lot of new and creative ideas and things to bring to the table. They grew up with computers and aren’t afraid to get in there and use the social media to their advantage. They are not intimidated by it, whereas an older member of society may have a bit more apprehension toward new technology. However, with all the new social media and the popularity of text messaging it has hindered our spelling skills. I think I’d benefit from grammar girl and can always use a little polishing up on my writing. Thanks for posting.

  2. September 30, 2010 at 3:05 PM

    I’ll be the first to admit it; run-on sentences have always been a struggle for me. They are sloppy, confusing, and no good in the advanced world of writing. I know that run-on sentences can really destroy the point and the meanings of what the writer is trying to get across. I am going to have to spend some time with Grammar girl and work on my sentence structure and effectiveness. Having proper grammatical skills is crucial for all professional writers of any kind. It is hard for possible employers and peers to take a person seriously if they have sloppy sentences, typos, and grammatical errors. (Now that I have gone on a rant about it, I hope I don’t have any.) Ha!

  1. September 26, 2010 at 9:46 PM
  2. September 30, 2010 at 3:14 PM

Leave a Reply

